The CEI ( is a regional intergovernmental forum established in 1989, following the fall of the Berlin wall. It gathers 17 Member States, of which nine EU members (Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia), five accession countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia) and three Eastern neighbours (Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine). As the largest intergovernmental forum for regional cooperation, the CEI’s institutional mission is to promote European integration and sustainable development in Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. The CEI supports a united Europe with shared values embracing all countries, regions, peoples, and citizens; and fosters the strengthening of capacities of its Member States towards good governance, rule of law and sustainable economic development for stability, social cohesion, environmental sustainability, security, and prosperity.